Benjamin Button

by jeffarmstrong

Well, I’ve been putting off watching this movie for a long time. Mainly because I didn’t think I’d like it.

Occasionally we have the opportunity to see theater, movies, performances that really speak to us in a way that others do not. To get to the point, sometimes, rarely We might feel like a movie was written just we, and only we, would be able to see it. As if it were written just for our attention.

In many ways, ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Button‘ was the one that caught me by surprise. As stated, I didn’t think I’d like it. Brad in his southern accent and Cate looking strangely alluring, it seemed a bit done before. Somewhere.

But not so, entirely. An adaption from a 1920’s short story, the movie had only a smattering the obvious racial and cultural puritanism of the time. The story supersedes this simply by not bothering that much with it. And the ‘curious case’ in the medical and psychological sense, is met with beautiful pragmatism and true acceptance.

What could easily have become a Sci-fi thriller turns out to be the story of every man. The 20’s prose was, amongst other things, a commentary on motherhood and relationships. The Hollywood adaption, despite being well funded, retains a heart of poignancy.

As I watched it I felt that it was written and played, truly, just for me. That someone looked at my life and said: ‘You know what? I have a story to define you.’ Don’t get me wrong, there are no physical or sociological parallels there. Only a feeling I get that somehow things are back to front and that the more I experience, the less I know and the older I get the younger (or, perhaps, the more immature) I feel.

And so, as I sit here and grow younger and more immature and forget the things I used to know and realize the truths that elude us all I am comfortable in the knowledge that, even eighty years ago, and therefore at anytime in history, someone, somewhere felt, more or less, the same way.

Comforting.

Be Good,

Jeff

