Chalice of the Holy Eucharist

by jeffarmstrong




Chalice

Originally uploaded by Jeff Armstrong Photography

Sometimes my job just doesn’t get better!

I spent this day taking images of some more beautiful artefacts from the vaults of the Dominicans. The artistry in these items is extraordinary and I can’t help feeling a certain reverence every time I pick one up.

The word Eucharist means “thanks giving’. These is one of the cups used to share this sacrament at mass. This particular one is kept in the vault and not really used except perhaps on occasions or ‘feast’ days.

It is an understandable shame that these are hidden away. It is my great hope that my work here will help more people appreciate and admire the time, talent and beauty that many artisans have sacrificed for their faith.

